Customized Bride

Planning our wedding one custom at a time

Hello World January 10, 2009

Filed under: wedding planning — tonya @ 1:59 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

ooohh a first blog post. Well, since this is a wedding blog, let’s give some stats!

Groom: Sergei

Bride: Tonya

Wedding date: ??!!? September 2009. IF we can find a place and IF we can prevent ourselves from having a stroke at how much everything costs. This is the second wedding for both of us and a simple “let’s just get together with a few close family members and friends” type of party is turning into a $15000 montrosity, just from the simple fact of how much everything costs. Watch this space to find out if I can find ways to let the Dutch thriftiness in me shine through!

Motif: Sergei is Ukrainian and came to America in 2002 and became a citizen in 2006. (Yay! Score one for the USA.) We are looking at ways to blend his heritage and mine into the ceremony as well as the details.

Size: Probably around 50 people.

 

3 Responses to “Hello World”

  1. Cathie Says:

    Hey, here’s one to help you save money; I am an ordained minister! I have only performed one wedding, but I do have a couple of books on vows and ceremony-writing, and I would do it for the bargain cost of some LUSH. Let me know if you are interested.

  2. danielle Says:

    hi tonya,
    are you actually dutch? i am an american, recently relocated to nl, and am also planning (kind of) my wedding.
    i have heard about the dutch thriftiness, but it seems things are changing with the younger generations.

  3. tonya Says:

    Hey there Danielle! You bet I am Dutch. Well, one half full blooded Dutch, but I grew up in a Dutch hometown complete with a Tulip Festival and everything! So I have very strong Dutch roots and heritage.

    I think that the modern Dutch and my ancestors are quite different. The staunchly religious Dutch were the ones that came over in the late 1800s-early 1900s and settled, so I think that their descendants are a bit more “traditional” than the modern Dutch. I do think they are still known to be frugal, but I do think it’s changing with the modern generation as well.


Leave a Reply

