Customized Bride

Planning our wedding one custom at a time

Venue update January 12, 2009

Filed under: wedding planning — tonya @ 1:21 pm
Tags: ,

Wow- so many details! It’s amazing to find out what is included and what is not in each place you look.

Well, the venue tour turned out all right. The botanical gardens are gorgeous, but the room we’d fit in (and can afford) is pretty small. No dance floor or anywhere to “do” anything after you eat dinner. I guess you could wander around the gardens (and I am sure folks would do that anyway).

Hotel Metro was super-cool, but wow it’s super expensive. Most dinners on the menu were over $70. $70 for a steak? Seriously? The dining room is beautiful, and the Zen on 7 is totally right up our alley. It fits our style precisely, but narrowing down the guest list to 36…..zoinks! On the other hand, it might be easier to do than I think. (Perhaps I am flattering myself as to how  many people will want to attend my wedding!) So, for now we are marking Hotel Metro as a “maybe.”

The Pabst Mansion is a really cool place, but Flemish Renaissance just doesn’t fit my motif I think. The woodwork in the house is amazing, though, and I highly recommend people visit. Those in charge have done a beautiful job of restoration.

We didn’t make it to Bacchus because no one was there to meet us (turns out their wedding planner was in Madison.) Still a distinct maybe. We are going to visit Tuesday evening.

 

3 Responses to “Venue update”

  1. Nicole Says:

    Tonya! I had no idea you had a blog. How do I sign up to follow it? Andrew and I had our reception at Hotel Metro. We loved it. I don’t remember the prices being that expensive though! Does that include a partial open bar? I remember it being a package that included some drinks. Since I’m an aspiring wedding planner, and since I know a lot of the vendors here in MKE because of my own crazy planning, please let me know if I can help out in any way. How fun!

  2. Aunt Lorna Says:

    Wow this is such a shock. I had not idea you had entered into a blog?!?!!? Oh my you are really working on this wedding stuff. Let me know what I can do?!?!?!
    We are so excited–even more so when we met the wonderful man and his adorable son–having a little Alex withdrawal to be very honest with ya?!?!?!

  3. tonya Says:

    Well you’re not *that* behind my dear- it just got started this past weekend! 🙂 I have you on my short list of those that I’ve got to pick their brains for ideas, but I’m not even to the stage where I know what I need to be doing! ACK! My to-do list is still ginormous. 🙂


Leave a Reply

