Customized Bride

Planning our wedding one custom at a time

Sea Salt Caramel Wedding Favors- NOM NOM NOM! January 17, 2009

One of my favorite food groups candies in all the world is sea salt caramels. And I am no snob- any sea salt caramel will do. Case in point: Choxie from Target makes a sea salt caramel that was probably created months ago and is covered in a waxy preservative coating. No matter. I will nom them like I am downing bites of popcorn.

What is a sea salt caramel you ask? I am surprised how many people have not heard of these! Sea salt caramels are caramels flavored with sea salt. See? You already knew that.  They are amazing– a taste of sweet and salt in the same bite. I know it sounds weird, but trust me, they are so tasty.

I am thinking about having sea salt caramels as my wedding favor. I know the candy thing is kind of overdone at weddings, but I really love these little buggers and I want to share the glory of sea salt caramels with the world! So it’s one option.

They can be a bit tricky to find, however. Which is why this article at thenibble.com has been like finding a goldmine! After reading my new wishlist the article, I went ahead and ordered the Grey Caramels and Smoked Caramels at Fran’s Chocolates. Besides the fact they are GORGEOUS,

they  have won some prestigious foodie awards and are a favorite of President-elect Obama. When my order arrived, I discovered that, at least when it comes to caramels, Obama knows what he’s talking about! The caramels have just the right mix of sweet and salt, the caramels have just the right firmness, and the  extra little sprinkling of salt on the outside ties it all together and leaves a delightful taste lingering on your tongue.

They are *amazing.* A bit expensive at 8 of them for $11.50, but that’s not too out of line for wedding favors. Fran’s are truly unbelievable, but I will keep up my search! (After all, that’s part of the fun, right?)

Anyone else out there share my love of sea salt caramels?

 

2 Responses to “Sea Salt Caramel Wedding Favors- NOM NOM NOM!”

  1. Jamie Says:

    Hey Tonya! I randomly surfed on here from your gmail link… but have you tried Franklin’s chocolates here in Bay View? I am not sure if he does sea salt caramels, but he might be willing to. I know he does a super fab English toffee that I crave pretty much every day…

    –Jamie

  2. tonya Says:

    Jamie,

    I’ve never heard of them before but you can bet your sweet bippy I’ll be trying them this weekend! Thanks for the heads up Jamie!


Leave a Reply

