Customized Bride

Planning our wedding one custom at a time

What a weekend! March 3, 2009

Filed under: wedding,wedding planning — tonya @ 11:06 pm
Tags: , ,

This weekend was a mad dash, but plenty of fun. I am still tired! (Looks like I need to stop working and get more of a life!)

We saw a ton of really cool dresses, cakes, invitations- just anything and everything. We attended two of the most expensive wedding shows in MKE– for free I might add, which makes my Dutch blood sing– and I have more brochures and pamplets and websites to review than I think I can ever tackle!

In re: the goals I set for this weekend:

1. Picking a date. Well, still not set yet, but we did narrow it down to be a Sunday. Which Sunday in August/September is yet to be determined! This week I will be setting up some time to take a look at a few different venues for the ceremony itself, and at that point we should be able to set a date. Interestingly, my mother made it very clear that she did *not* want me to have the same anniversary date as her and my father, and that she did not want the date to be on her birthday. Duly noted.

2. Firming up the budget. My parents did offer to help out with the wedding to the tune of a few thousand dollars, which is very good news. I think if we have it on a Sunday, their conribution can pay for the reception, so that would be a great relief.

3. Firming up the guest list. Done. I had forgotten to add my landlord, who owns the duplex in which Sergei and I have separate apartments. Other than that, we’ve got it covered I think. If every single person showed up, we’d have 40, so I am hoping 35 show up and we can call it good.

4. Wedding planner purchased. Done! I purchased the Bridal Bargains Wedding Planner:

$17.95 from Barnes and Noble.com

I bought it more for the advice than for the note-keeping, as I have my handy dandy binder with my Russell + Hazel printouts. It’s got a ton of really good advice, however, which is what really sold me. Great ideas on how the wedding industry works and how to get the best deal. The book is positively garish–I swear the neon pink is going to burn my retinas, so this time Dutchy won out over my love for design.

One other thing that we decided was to have the rehearsal dinner be a backyard BBQ at my house (weather permitting.) I think this could be *great* fun, as I have an adorable back yard that will greatly lend itself to a BBQ and really cute decorations. I am already envisioning different ways to hang lights from the trees…..

So that’s my recap! And now on with the planning!

 

3 Responses to “What a weekend!”

  1. Leika Says:

    Congrats on the productive weekend – sounds like you had fun! LOVE the idea of a BBQ rehearsal dinner…we wanted to do that, but decided cooking for the massive amount of family+wedding party who will be there was a little much.

    Did you see the really cute rehearsal dinner featured on Snippet & Ink last month? http://snippetandink.blogspot.com/2009/02/real-wedding-saturday-sharon-francis.html

  2. tonya Says:

    Leika- I did see that BBQ dinner and it is SO CUTE!! I am totally going to be using it for inspiration. Luckily we’ll probably have 50 people at the most, so that should be just about right for a BBQ!

  3. Samantha Says:

    That wedding planner is awesome, I absolutely love it for the advice (like you, not so much the note-taking since I have other things for that).


Leave a Reply

